7th Feb 2014

How is it Friday again already!? The hours just fly by… Oh well! Here’s some pictures of the commission I’ve been working on, and two surprise pieces. The clients had purchased a piece in 2013 for their new extension and were just lovely customers. When they got back in touch early in January about a possible second piece for their living room I was definitely up for the challenge. They wanted a piece with yellow as the predominant colour – a colour I don’t usually use and it was tricky but I got there with it in the end and really enjoyed myself – expect more yellow to come in the next few weeks. They requested that I name the piece after one of their three daughters, it being much fairer if I did it.. Could I do it? No! I’m one of three girls and I thought it would be fun to paint two little extra pieces (I had loads of sized tiny canvases in the studio), so that’s what I did – I love a good surprise!

ImageImage

ImageImageImage

The paintings are titled Lauren, Nicole and Kristen – lovely names. Lauren was one of our name choices on the girl side both times round, but this has definitely turned out to be a boy house! Cars, trucks, lorries, diggers, tractors, stuff with wheels, the bigger the better as far as James is concerned. I honestly had no idea they even made such big trucks, those humongous mining trucks are just unbelievable and are bigger than our house I swear – very, very impressive. I’ll leave you with my son James’s favourite video at the moment – German heavy metal and giant trucks – it’s compelling viewing although it makes me a little sad about our modern world. James just LOVES the trucks and shouts ‘Look mum! Oh no! The wheels have come off!!!’ he also dances to the Eisbrecher soundtrack – I’m not usually a metal fan but Eisbrecher are pretty good!

Leave a Reply

